The plan not to have a plan

As I sit here at the airport I am excited and ready to go back. It feels normal, like I am going somewhere familiar, somewhere like home. But, at the same time it’s strange and different to be going ‘back’ to a country I have been living in but to a different place. I have only ever returned to the place I left whether for a holiday, a trip or for business. I haven’t ever gone back but at the same time not really back.

For the first time in my life I don’t really have a plan other than to see what happens and not plan. For me, the girl who always has a plan, this is strange. However, if I have learned anything in the past few years it’s that plans don’t always work out and as much as they can be awesome to have, when life steers you in an unexpected direction, it is challenging enough without feeling the need to make comparisons between real life and ‘the plan’.

Although this will be an adventure, it’s also going to be a personal challenge; not to plan, not to live life how I have always presumed I would (should?), with a fixed abode, bills, set salaries, routines and plans. As much as I am excited by the challenge, there’s part of me that worries I am not up to it. I feel like once again I am putting myself out of my comfort zone and this time not just by being in a new country or taking a new job but by adopting a totally new way of life.

Let’s see how it goes!

Let me know what you think

